Clean Beauty Revolution

***Now guys, before you run away, there is a girlfriend, boyfriend, spouse, cousin, sibling, or friend in your life who could benefit from this information

Like most people I am trying to live a healthier lifestyle. Now while I am not quite ready to give up my 20 piece chicken mcnuggets or run a marathon every weekend, I am willing to make an effort to remove some chemicals from the products that I use. Baby steps. Do things in moderation.

Chemicals-in-Makeup

I began my journey on Pinterest and woke up 2 days later having pinned a whole board on why we needed an alpaca farm and delusions of crafts and recipes that I would never look at again. Luckily for me I have a crazy pretentious hippy friend, that we will call Pocahontas. Her and her family live a pretty chemical free life and strive to make it work without going crazyish. A little while ago we discussed makeup and the chemicals and processes that go into them. The mission begins. I began looking up many brands, read the list of ingredients on so called ‘natural’ makeup brands, and decided what my standards were.

chemicals

The first company I got samples from was Vapour Beauty. I got a blush stain, hand cream, foundation, eye shadow, and a lipstick. They were OK. They didn’t have the staying power I was used to and the hand cream just didn’t mess well with my skin.

Then Pocahontas tells me about a brand she has found called Au Naturale. Au Naturale Cosmetics offers organic, non-toxic, and cruelty-free makeup free of parabens, nano-particles, carmine, gluten and sulfates. I ordered samples and waited. The first day I tried them I was hooked. I got a few samples of shades of foundation to match my color and then ordered the full sizes. I use the stick foundation, translucent powder, white eye shadow, lip gloss, and blush. The packaging is black and white, my fav, and super clean. They included a hand written thank you note every time. I once ordered the powered from amazon and it came with a note of who packed the product. They don’t skimp on the containers or their style.

Au Naturale packaging.png

Big Side note: I write all this, Au Naturale has rebranded and it launches TODAY! The good news was over the weekend all their stuff was half off, so now I have foundation to last me a really long time.

Foundation: It has a nice sleek silver container. I first opened it and was concerned with how much product was there but it lasted me 4 months and I wear makeup every day. I paint my stick on like wartime paint and blend it out with my beauty sponge. When you run out of stick there is still quite a bit left in the tube that you can scrape out.

Powder: It is very fine, comes out well, and has great coverage. I use a big brush to apply and bake it on in some places.

Blush –This blush is pigment rich. My color is so close to NARS orgasm, which has been my go to blush for years. A little goes a long way. I have found that it comes out of the holes super easy and it really gathers at the top of the container. Be careful not to tip it over. This may last me 4 years.

White cream eye shadow: I have a confession. I have not gone all natural and clean with my makeup. One thing I am not willing to give up yet is my Covergirl TruNaked eye shadow kits. I swear by these eye shadow palettes. Want a glamour eye? BAM! Just a little effort and you will love it. So I used the white as a base/primer. I convince myself it stops the bad stuff from getting in my skin right? Don’t answer that. It stays in place and helps enhance the colors of the eyeshadow.

Lip gloss: Remember this is a gloss not an stay on lipstick. That’s what I had to tell myself in the beginning. I had a hard time because I came off using Kat Von D Loletta II which is amazing but not good for you. Again, lots of pigment in this and it stays on really well. Even after it is all over my coffee, right hand, and ruler at my desk, it is still on.

I need to try more Au Naturale products and make the switch because I am so happy with the ones I have. Also, they are a woman owned business and advocates of the clean beauty revolution. Check out their Insta for more info on them and their efforts for laws and regulations on the safety of makeup.

Okay let’s move on. I still use my drugstore eyeliner. It’s been with me since high school. Not the same one but the type. I love just have a deep love for it. I have tried many liquid liners and this is the one for me.

Also, I use Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes mascara. Tarte is a leader in healthy, eco-chic beauty offering cruelty free cosmetics. They are formulated without parabens, mineral oil, phthalates, sodium lauryl sulfate, triclosan, synthetic fragrances, and gluten.  I do love this mascara. It often goes on sale for $10 and it is truly wonderful. Another Pocahontas find. I need to try more of their products!

What natural makeup have you tried or do you recommend?

Another time we will talk about natural beauty products, deodorant, ect. There is a lot to learn. It is time to change our ways and thinking.

For more information check out Safecosmetics.org

6 thoughts on “Clean Beauty Revolution

  1. I already love this blog, ad a shit show myself. I wanted to add that I have been using Perfectly Posh products for the past 8 weeks and I love some of them. This is another brand of natural products and I have found some products I like. Now after reading this I am going to take a closer look at my products in all areas.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

